F

lorida Boating Safety Act of 2022, also known as SB 606, requires all boat rental operators (liveries) to be compliant with certain rules that were made to improve boating safety in Florida and prevent accidents on the water. These rules apply to all boat rental operations for motor-powered vessels of 10HP or more without a captain. If you operate rentals with a captain or human-powered vessels then SB 606 compliance is not required for your business.

In addition, certain rules were clarified in a subsequent update with SB 418 regarding insurance requirements.

What are the Requirements of the Boat Rental Operator?

We’ve outlined below the important requirements that you need to be compliant with SB 606 & SB 418:

  • You must qualify for and secure a no-cost livery permit from the FWC (Florida Fish and Wildlife Commission) prior to offering a vessel to rent.
  • You must carry a renters insurance policy that meets the requirements.
  • You must educate renters with pre-rental safety and operational instructions.
  • You must collect contact information of the renter (name, address, DOB) as well as emergency contact and keep on file.

Obtaining your Livery Operator Permit

The livery operator permit (LOP) is free and valid for one year. Permits must be renewed annually on the birth date of the person obtaining the permit. In order to qualify for the permit, you must:

  • Provide the FWC with a list of vessels that are offered for rent by the livery.
  • Provide proof of valid insurance coverage.
  • Provide business creation records and local business license or tax receipt, if applicable.
  • Complete and sign the Livery Permit Certification Form.

You can request the permit online, by email or mail:

¬†¬†¬†Online: app.bookingcentral.com/s/liverypermit‚Äć

   Email: LiveryPermit@myfwc.com

   Mail: FWC Boating and Waterways, Attention: Livery Permit, 620 South Meridian Street, Tallahassee, FL 32399-1600

Insurance Coverage Requirements

The FWC considers valid insurance coverage of the livery to include:

  • Coverage for the livery (accidents, loss, injury, property damage or other casualties) in the amount of at least $500,000 per person and $1 million per event.

AND

  • A statement from the insurance company of the same coverage for the renter ($500,000 per person and $1 million per event).

      OR

  • A statement from the insurance company that the renter has the option to purchase the same coverage under the livery‚Äôs insurance policy.

Learn more about the types of insurance you should have here: The 3 types of insurance you need as a boat rental operator.

Renter's Insurance Policy

All renters must be given the opportunity to purchase renter's insurance. The requirements from SB 418 include:

  • You must give your renters the opportunity to purchase renter‚Äôs insurance prior to taking the vessel out on the water.
  • The insurance must provide coverage of at least $500,000 per person and $1 million per event.
  • If the renter declines the insurance, you must get a signed acknowledgement of refusal from the renter on file, using the text outlined in the law.

Learn more about renter's insurance here: What to know about insurance requirements from SB 418.

Boating Safety Requirements

One of the biggest reasons for the Boating Safety Act of 2022 (SB606) was to ensure that boaters are safe out on the water.  That is why all renters must be educated on boater safety and comply with boating safety requirements.

The renter and anyone operating the vessel must have one of the following for boating safety:

  • All persons born after January 1, 1988 must have successfully completed an approved Boating Safety Course and have a Boating Safety ID card issued by the FWC.
  • The renter must have passed a Temporary Certificate Examination approved by the FWC.
  • The renter has a valid International Certificate of Competency.
  • The renter completed a boating safety course or equivalent examination in another state, US territory, or Canada which meets or exceeds the minimum requirements established by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators.

Note: There are some exceptions to this requirement which are outlined here: https://myfwc.com/boating/safety-education/faqs/.

Pre-Rental Instruction and Attestation

SB 606 outlines your responsibility to provide renters with pre-rental / pre-ride instructions prior to allowing them out on the water. The instructor must have successfully completed and passed an approved Boating Safety Education course. Proof of the completion must be maintained at the location.

The Pre-Rental / Pre-Ride Instructions must include a checklist of safety and operation rules for the renter including, but not limited to:

  • The renter's responsibility for the safe and proper use of the vessel
  • Proper operation of the vessel including characteristics of the vessel, safety equipment use, and water activities (e.g. waterskiing)
  • Navigation rules on the waterways
  • Awareness of waterway hazards, weather changes, and navigation aids (e.g. buoys)
  • Emergency Procedures

Once the qualified instructor educates the renter of these instructions, the renter and the instructor must complete and sign a Livery Attestation Form that includes each component of the instruction. This signed form must be maintained by the livery for 90 days and be made available to law enforcement upon request.

The Checklist and Attestation form is provided by the FWC and can be downloaded here.

How is BookingCentral helping you to be compliant with SB 606 and SB 418?

BookingCentral provides the best boat rental booking and management platform on the market, and offer features that help you stay compliant with state laws.

About BookingCentral

BookingCentral is complete Booking and Rentals Management Platform designed specifically for Boat Rental Operators, Marinas and Sailing Clubs. Here's why BookingCentral is the best solution for your rental business:

  • The best booking platform on the market for rentals
  • Designed specifically to meet the needs of Boat Rental Operators
  • Handles all types of rentals from hourly to multi-day options
  • Easy to navigate and use
  • Provides the best service and support
  • The only booking platform and rental management platform that provides all feature in one package - no need to log into different applications to manage your business.

We've built in numerous automated features that assist with the SB 606 and SB 418 requirements.

Rental Pre-Check In

Pre-Check In is an online tool that allows the renter to provide the information required to operate the vessel. This includes:

  • Renter and Passenger Information such as Name, Address, Phone, Email, DOB
  • Document Upload such as Driver‚Äôs License, Boating Certificate/License, Insurance Forms
  • Emergency Contact Information
  • Waivers: signed digital waivers by the renter and passengers
  • Renter‚Äôs Insurance Option: renters have the optoin to purchase renter's insurance

Pre-Check In happens after the renter confirms the booking and prior to their arrival to take the vessel. Renters are alerted to complete the pre-check in form via email and/or text message.

BookingCentral's Pre-Check In

Check In / Check Out

On the day of arrival checking in your renters should be fast and efficient. Your renters are ready for a day on the water, so keeping this a swift process is the goal.

BookingCentral’s Check In / Check Out (CICO) is built to check in renters and shows all the details about the booking including the important information needed for compliance. Renters that completed the steps during Pre-Check In will show on their Check In page, and the you and your employees will be altered during Check In if any information is missing or incomplete. You will be able to get any missing details during Check In if needed.

Not only that, the Check In feature allows you to customize the steps that are important to your business.

Here is a typical example of a SB 606 / SB 418 compliant Check in form:

  • Verify driver(s) and passenger(s)
  • Confirm that the renter/driver(s) has the required Boating Safety Course certificate/license
  • Verify that the waivers have been signed
  • Verify rental time and vessel
  • Confirm if the renter accepted or declined the renter‚Äôs insurance
  • Complete the pre-rental/pre-ride instruction checklist and attestation
  • Inspect the vessel(s) for fuel, oil or damage
  • Take pictures of the vessel(s)
  • Authorize damage deposit
  • Offer add-ons
  • Collect final payment (if a balance is due)
  • Get final customer signature for the rental (if required)

These steps can be set as required, and all employees will follow the same steps so you will have that assurance that the process is completed.

Check In on BookingCentral

Integrations with Insurance Providers

We work with several insurance providers that can assist you with insurance requirements. One of our partnerships is with Buoy.rent who is able to provide the renter's insurance to your customers. Through our partnership, you can get signed up with Buoy at no cost. It's fully integrated into BookingCentral, so your renter will be able to choose to purchase insurance without having to leave the booking platform. It's a seamless process that makes it easy for the customer and keeps you in compliance with the law.

Buoy.rent Renter's Insurance Selections during Pre-Check In

Need More Information?

Our team of experts at BookingCentral can help you navigate these requirements so you are compliant with SB 606 and SB 418. Reach out to us to get your questions answered.

Posted 
Dec 28, 2023
 in 
Rentals
 category
No spam ever. Read our Privacy Policy
Thank you! Keep an eye out for our next newsletter in your email inbox.
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.